Posted by: stacie2147 | March 17, 2009

Last menses for 9 months?

I got my period yesterday, right on schedule after stopping my birth control pills.  It was mild yesterday, and although I’m not flowing heavy today the cramps are killing me.  I’ve been eating Advil like M&M’s and it’s just barely taking the edge off.  I don’t know if that’s because I’m on Lupron, but I suspect not.  I’ll be sleeping with the heating pad tonight, and this time I’m not referring to my doggie!

I had my weekly acupuncture appointment today and it was a big help in temporarily reducing the cramps.  She added points to my belly to help with that, and put the heat lamp there as well as turning on the heater on the bed.  All combined, it took them way down.  I just wish that relief lasted longer, it’s usually only good for about an hour or so after the session.  (Sigh) 

This acupuncture session was interesting, and not just because of the cramp relief!  When she put a needle in my ankle I got a pins & needle sensation shooting down my foot.  It was very strong and I kicked out when I felt it.  I don’t know why, but if I’m going to have a reaction from her “tapping into my chi” it seems to happen at that pressure point.  Supposedly it’s a good thing, but it’s a very odd feeling when it happens.  She also added a few extra points since I officially started the IVF protocol.  She inserted a needle between my eyes, and one at the top of my head.  I can only imagine what I must have looked like! 

Between the acupuncture and the Lupron shot this AM I feel like a pin cushion.  I know it’s going to get worse when I start the stims as I’ll have those shots twice a day, but I’m crampy and cranky and I’ll whine if I want to.  My only consolation is that this may be my last period for 9 months.  When I think of it that way I have to shut up!  😉

Leave a Reply

Categories

