Posted by: stacie2147 | April 3, 2009

Stims monitoring / potential OHSS?

I went for my monitoring ultrasound yesterday, as well as my physical to be sure I was OK for the egg retrieval surgery.  I found out that out of the 16 “ladies in waiting” only 8 had pulled forward to a measurable size.  I had 1 follicle at 11mm, 6 follicles at 12mm and 1 follicle at 14mm.  The rest have not pulled forward.  I was very disappointed with this information, however my nurse pointed out again that they hope to retrieve 8-10 eggs for IVF and I’m in that range.  I also found out that I was supposed to have my estrogen level checked while I was at that appointment, but didn’t know so I never went to the lab.  I had to go there early this AM to get my blood drawn and make sure my estrogen level was OK.  It’s not. 

My E2 (estrogen) level is higher than where it should be at this point of stimulation.  My nurse instructed us to NOT take tonight’s stim shot – DARN, no painful injection!  We have to travel up to Lebanon tomorrow for a 9:00 ultrasound appointment and another E2 check.  Evidently the satellite location where I went for my last ultrasound measures the follicles slightly differently than the hospital in Lebanon, so because of my heightened E2 levels they want me tested in Lebanon to be sure everything is accurate.  My current E2 is 3290, and ideally they do not want it to go over 5000 before the egg retrieval.  Originally we estimated my retrieval day to be Thursday, but judging from my E2 level I’m growing my follies much faster.  Because of this I’m in danger of developing ovarian hyper-stimulation syndrome, or OHSS.  If you’re not familiar with OHSS, it’s when the ovaries become overly swollen with fluid, leaking this excess fluid in to the body.  In the worst case scenario it causes the ovaries to twist, and requires emergency surgery to remove them.  Not good!

Tomorrow’s ultrasound and blood work will determine how we proceed from here.  They hope they can slow down my climbing E2 levels by either adjusting my Follistim and Menopur doses or eliminating them for the remainder of the cycle.  If I develop OHSS we will not be able to do the IVF this cycle.  The good news is that they most likely will still be able to do the egg retrieval, so I didn’t suffer through the stimulation drugs this cycle for nothing.  Then they will give my body time to heal from the OHSS (I believe it’s a cycle or two) and then we’ll do the IVF with a FET, or frozen embryo transfer.  If we do a FET the only shots I’ll have to tolerate are the Lupron, the HCG and the progesterone; no more Follistim or Menopur required as I won’t have to stimulate for eggs with the snowbabies in waiting.  It should be a much easier cycle!

I so hope that we can slow down the growth of the follies and safely do the IVF this cycle.  I’ll be very disappointed if we have to do a FET, because of the time lost and the fact that I know not all of the embryos are going to survive the freezing process.  I’m trying to keep a positive attitude, but it’s hard when you’re feeling bloated and have a pulling sensation in your sides.  I was warned this would be expected during the stims, but I can’t help but wonder if it’s OHSS and my fate is already determined…

Responses

  1. Stacie,

    It was really nice to read your blog entries. My husband and I tried for 8 years before IUI gave us our little boy (now 28 mo.). You and I seem to have similar issues – thyroid, polyps, undiagnosed infertility issues.

    I see you haven’t posted since the beginning of the month, I hope you are okay. Believe me, I know what it’s like for a treatment to not work…just had my 4th failure in a row, will wait a few months (hubby’s going on business trips the next few months) to try again.

    I wish you success, comfort, and patience…lots and lots of patience, especially when your little one does come along.

    God bless,
    Stephanie


Leave a Reply

Categories

